: GXP for $18,700 ????
jdtrumbore 11-17-2011, 06:23 AM http://autos.yahoo.com/used-cars/pontiac-g8-cars425590332?start=16&sortcol=price&sortdir=up&listingtype=used&model=g8&make=pontiac&distance=any
Someone in TN better check this out quick! Must be a joke.
I sent an email for more info...maybe a trip to Memphis soon ?
PONY MAN 11-17-2011, 08:41 AM I have some very serious doubts. IMHO, it looks akin to a Craigslist scam. Sounds too good to be true!!!
lvgmman 11-17-2011, 09:52 AM 1 picture, no phone number, $12k under lowest book value. isn't that the same picture from the gxp that was listed for sale for $20k last month. that's a real listing for sure, if you believe that i have an ocean front property in Colorado for sale as well :)
SRG963 11-17-2011, 09:58 AM DEAL!
Too good to be true tho.
Slade92 11-17-2011, 01:10 PM Same issue that happened a couple weeks ago. I believe it is the "same" car listed on cars.com. I saw that yesterday as well.
1 obvious scam is actually pretty good. Search for used Nissan GT-Rs on cars.com. There are about a dozed that can be had for less than $25k and less than 15K miles!!
thekalman 11-17-2011, 01:14 PM Features
Options Included: Cassette Radio, CD Player, Tow Package, Power Seats, Memory Seats, Bucket Seats, Tinted Glass, Rear Window Wiper, Remote Keyless Entry, Anti-Lock Brakes, Airbag: Driver, Airbag: Passenger, Power Windows, Leather Interior, A/C: Rear, Sunroof/Moonroof, Rear Window Defroster, Alarm, A/C: Front, Airbag: Side, Alloy Wheels, CD Changer, Third Row Seats, Navigation System, TV/VCR, Premium Sound
o_0
SRG963 11-17-2011, 01:22 PM Cassette Radio, Third Row Seats, Navigation System, and TV/VCR?
Must have been customized lol
Slade92 11-17-2011, 01:31 PM Same issue that happened a couple weeks ago. I believe it is the "same" car listed on cars.com. I saw that yesterday as well.
1 obvious scam is actually pretty good. Search for used Nissan GT-Rs on cars.com. There are about a dozed that can be had for less than $25k and less than 15K miles!!
I'm thinking of selling my G8 for this! Thoughts?:wink2:
http://www.cars.com/go/search/detail.jsp?tracktype=usedcc&csDlId=&csDgId=&listingId=78113512&listingRecNum=5&criteria=sf1Dir%3DASC%26mkId%3D20077%26stkTyp%3DU% 26mdId%3D21204%26rd%3D100000%26crSrtFlds%3DstkTypI d-feedSegId-mkId-mdId%26zc%3D39705%26rn%3D0%26PMmt%3D1-1-0%26stkTypId%3D28881%26sf2Dir%3DASC%26sf1Nm%3Dpric e%26sf2Nm%3Dmiles%26isDealerGrouping%3Dfalse%26rpp %3D50%26feedSegId%3D28705&aff=national
GTouttheg8 11-17-2011, 02:18 PM I live in Memphis and Don't waste your time on this. This is my second time seeing this GXP on here. I inquiredAbout a month ago they had it listed at $20k and the car is not even in Memphis. It's supposedly in Omaha. It was on cars.com listed from a seller named "Cathy" but I got an email from "Amber". Here is the email response I got from the seller:
First please let me explain you how we can make get this sale done in order to decide if you want to proceed. I got a new job and moved to Omaha Nebraska. I'm very caught up with my work, that's why I gave it to a shipping company that will ship it to the next buyer (on my cost).
I am using PayPal Protection Program and through this service you will get the car for 5 days to inspect it, test drive it and decide if you want to keep it.
In case you will not be satisfied, you can send it back on my cost. During the 5 day period I won't get any money.
If you want to make the deal I need the following details from you:
full name, address, and phone#.
After I will have your info I will forward them to PayPal and I will get the ball rolling. PayPal will contact you with all the details that you need to complete this
deal. Waiting for your email with the requested details.
Regards
Seriously, let someone else use your vehicle for 5 days at your expense and who uses paypal for shipping protection on a car? Might I add the vehicle registered to a guy in Knoxville,TN.
Sent from my Autoguide iPhone app
definitely sounds like BS....Next thing you know, they'll say they got it in an inheritance from a rich uncle who died, but lives in Saudi...
Tremek 11-18-2011, 11:11 PM There's an increasing trend of the absolute-bottom priced cars on cars.com and the other car search sites being scams. Moreover on desirable cars it's usually the bottom half-dozen. I was looking at Cayennes a few months ago for my wife and saw something I suspected to be too good to be true. Well, I Googled the name of the dealer listed - ATB Motors - and the day prior to my search this article was posted:
http://mobile.dglobe.com/page/article/id/51973/property_id/24/
"The auto dealer has a Mini Cooper listed for several thousand dollars below book value, a 2009 Porsche Cayenne that just begs for a spin, and a plethora of Mercedes, BMWs and Vipers. All of them are priced to drive away quickly.
The only catch is that the dealership supposedly selling the cars doesn’t actually exist in the real world. The website for ATB Autos states the dealership is at 237 S. Kniss Ave. in Luverne.
“Unfortunately, there’s no such place in Luverne,” said Rock County Sheriff Evan Verbrugge."
... So. I know we're going to keep seeing these same threads get created over and over, but yeah, use some common sense... 1 photo, 1 name (usually only a first name, and female interestingly enough) and priced well below market is a sure sign of scammers.
grandpop09 11-19-2011, 04:30 AM http://autos.yahoo.com/used-cars/pontiac-g8-cars425590332?start=16&sortcol=price&sortdir=up&listingtype=used&model=g8&make=pontiac&distance=any
Someone in TN better check this out quick! Must be a joke.
Notice the language use and sentence structure. This is someone who is not literate in English and is likely not even in this country. It's a phishing scam looking for your identity info. BEWARE!!:judge:
jdtrumbore 11-19-2011, 05:56 AM No, pop, I happen to be a well educated, professional, American. Sorry I was too quick and gullible when I first posted this. I reallized a minute after that it was a scam.
GTouttheg8 11-19-2011, 06:50 AM I believe grandpop09 was referring to the actual ad itself, not your statement.
Sent from my Autoguide iPhone app
grandpop09 11-19-2011, 09:06 AM No, pop, I happen to be a well educated, professional, American. Sorry I was too quick and gullible when I first posted this. I reallized a minute after that it was a scam.
I apologize, jdtrumbore, for not making myself clearer in that response. I was not referring to you, but as has already been noted, I was referring to the ad itself.
grandpop09
jdtrumbore 11-19-2011, 09:18 AM Sorry as well. Someone close this thread please before I embarrass myself any more.
grandpop09 11-19-2011, 10:44 AM Sorry as well. Someone close this thread please before I embarrass myself any more.
Hey, we G8 owners need to stick together.
Happy Thanksgiving to all!!!:slap:
grandpop
jaxredg8 11-19-2011, 01:58 PM Closed per request!
| |