Bluetooth, cruise control and remote start not working - Pontiac G8 Forum: G8 Forums - G8Board.com
 
Go Back   Pontiac G8 Forum: G8 Forums - G8Board.com > G8 Tech > Stereo / Electronics

» Auto Insurance
» Vendors
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-16-2013, 10:09 PM   #1
cinosa
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Halifax, NS, Canada
Posts: 53
Unhappy Bluetooth, cruise control and remote start not working

So I'm a new guy here.. just got my 09 GT this past saturday. A few things I've noticed so far, is that my cruise control isn't working, the remote start isn't working and I can't get the onstar system to recognize that I want to pair my phone to the car.

I think I may know why the cruise doesn't work. I had an 07 Grand Prix that the cruise didn't work on, when I swapped out the stock spoiler for an SLP model and I broke the connector for the brake light in it. The dealer said because the light was "not there/burned out", the PCM in the car would not allow the cruise control to work. Now I have a burned out fog light in my car now, even though I don't use the fogs, the passenger side is burned out. Would that cause this problem?

The remote start thing, only just happened. When I picked the car up, it did work. Lock + lock + hold button until it tries to start. Now that doesn't work. Any ideas?

The bluetooth thing.. when I hit the voice button, it says "onstar ready" and I say "bluetooth" and it says "thank you, goodbye" and shuts itself off. On the RARE occasion that it picks up what i'm saying correctly, it never gives me the option the manual says it should: "bluetooth ready" so that I can pair my phone to it. This just does NOT work. What can I do to make this car understand me properly and/or get it to prompt me to pair or even delete a previously paired phone?
cinosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-16-2013, 10:40 PM   #2
jackalope
Senior Member
 
jackalope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Fascist State of Maryland
Posts: 5,211
Default

What is the last 8 of your vin #? If it isn't 9L3????? then it doesn't have bluetooth.

The remote start not working, and no cruise control either? Is the check engine light on?
__________________
Maryland, violating your constitutional rights since 1994.
jackalope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 10:49 PM   #3
cinosa
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Halifax, NS, Canada
Posts: 53
Default

The VIN ends with 9L1xxxxx, so I guess that's why I have no Bluetooth.. fail.

And yes, the check engine light is on. I had put gas in the car, and within 30 seconds it popped on, so I'm figuring it's the gas cap code (P0420 or whatever it is). So the CEL keeps the cruise and remote start from working? Interesting, I'll need to get the code scanned and turned off.

Thanks for the info, much appreciated!
cinosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 10:51 PM   #4
Terp4life
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Frederick MD
Posts: 1,107
Default

Check the cap and then within a few starts the code will go away. Happens a few more times, see if the dealer will replace it. Otherwise its well worth the $20 to replace it on your own.
Terp4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 10:54 PM   #5
cinosa
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Halifax, NS, Canada
Posts: 53
Default

Yeah, I had gotten out of the car and tightened it, so I'm hoping a couple more ignition cycles and the code will clear itself, and if not, I'll get the code scanned and turned off, then replace the cap.

Oh, anyone know what bulbs the factory fog lights are? Couple parts places around here don't have any idea what kind they are.
cinosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 11:03 PM   #6
GOPHERIT
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Fountain Valley California
Posts: 2,307
Default

The first thing that might be a problem for you, is if the car *is not* an 09MY GT or GXP.
If it is not one of those 2, the car did not come with the bluetooth setup incorporated into it (it can be added however). What you are hearing, sounds correct for a non bluethooth equipped car.
For the remote start, you need to verify that all 4 doors are indeed closed(as in no door ajar light illuminated). If it appears that all 4 doors are locked (like can't be manually opened and the manual door lock flippers all agree), I would say to open the hood and then close it with authority. If by chance the hood locked latch actuator misfired, an is indicating to the BCM that its not latched, you will not be able to remote start until corrected (no remote start allowed with a hood ajar condition).
Post what indication you see ( in the DIC for a short moment) when you push the turn signal stalk button *once*. Cruise control would be inop, if something with the brake pedal position sensor goes bad. But if your brake lights work correctly, I would think your brake pedal sensor is OK.


Ok--I had fun over thinking, and now see *better* info from the op, which makes my thoughts --moot--

Last edited by GOPHERIT; 01-16-2013 at 11:07 PM. Reason: late words
GOPHERIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 11:31 PM   #7
cinosa
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Halifax, NS, Canada
Posts: 53
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GOPHERIT View Post
The first thing that might be a problem for you, is if the car *is not* an 09MY GT or GXP.
If it is not one of those 2, the car did not come with the bluetooth setup incorporated into it (it can be added however). What you are hearing, sounds correct for a non bluethooth equipped car.
For the remote start, you need to verify that all 4 doors are indeed closed(as in no door ajar light illuminated). If it appears that all 4 doors are locked (like can't be manually opened and the manual door lock flippers all agree), I would say to open the hood and then close it with authority. If by chance the hood locked latch actuator misfired, an is indicating to the BCM that its not latched, you will not be able to remote start until corrected (no remote start allowed with a hood ajar condition).
Post what indication you see ( in the DIC for a short moment) when you push the turn signal stalk button *once*. Cruise control would be inop, if something with the brake pedal position sensor goes bad. But if your brake lights work correctly, I would think your brake pedal sensor is OK.


Ok--I had fun over thinking, and now see *better* info from the op, which makes my thoughts --moot--
Well, the car is indeed a MY09. I'm pretty sure the dealer i bought it from would be in some deep **** for lying on registration info. According to jackalope, I don't have it based on VIN, so that sucks

The remote start thing, I did have the hood popped to put washer fluid in it when I got the gas, so I guess I can pop it again and close it with a bit more authority and try again. I can also make sure all the doors are firmly closed as well.

As far as the cruise goes, the DIC does show "Cruise On", but it doesn't hold the speed. At first, I had thought the overspeed setting was causing it to not work, but even with that disabled, nothing, it just slows down when it's engaged and I let off the gas. I also had the increase speed held down to see if that would do anything, and it didn't. But since the CEL is on, maybe that has something to do with it? I'll get that checked and try again.
cinosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 12:13 AM   #8
Mike Jung
Senior Member
 
Mike Jung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 781
Default

Unless your dealer got a US 2009.5 (assembled after Oct '08, IIRC) car it doesn't have Bluetooth stock.

GM Canada only got a shipment(s) of Pontiac G8's in 2008 as a 2009 model year.
2009.5 shipments (almost) all of them were shipped to the US.
__________________
'14 Crystal Red Tintcoat Camaro SS RS coupe

Former G8 owner

RIP Sunday, Oct 6, '13
'09 PBM G8 GT with Premium Package & Sunroof
Mike Jung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 12:17 AM   #9
cinosa
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Halifax, NS, Canada
Posts: 53
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Jung View Post
Unless your dealer got a US 2009.5 (assembled after Oct '08, IIRC) car it doesn't have Bluetooth stock.

GM Canada only got a shipment(s) of Pontiac G8's in 2008 as a 2009 model year.
2009.5 shipments (almost) all of them were shipped to the US.
Well, that answers that on the bluetooth question. Thanks Mike.

I opened and closed all the doors, and opened/closed the hood again, no change with the remote start, but again, the CEL is still on. I'm going to run it by the dealer who sold me the car for them to take a look at it.
cinosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 12:37 AM   #10
Blackonblack
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Southern California Los Angeles
Posts: 83
Default

Did you enable the remote start setting?
Blackonblack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 12:39 AM   #11
pony killer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3,172
Default

Welcome aboard. Sorry to hear about the issues right off the bat . Good luck in the future.
pony killer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 12:41 AM   #12
cinosa
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Halifax, NS, Canada
Posts: 53
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackonblack View Post
Did you enable the remote start setting?
I never turned it off. How does one go about checking the status of the remote start setting?
cinosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 12:42 AM   #13
cinosa
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Halifax, NS, Canada
Posts: 53
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pony killer View Post
Welcome aboard. Sorry to hear about the issues right off the bat . Good luck in the future.
Thanks!
cinosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 02:55 AM   #14
Strobin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 19
Default

Until CEL goes away you won't have remote start
Strobin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 08:18 AM   #15
Silver Bullet
Super Moderator
 
Silver Bullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 3,549
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Strobin View Post
Until CEL goes away you won't have remote start
Correct remote start doesn't work if you the CEL is on. Also on the cruise control after you push the button to turn cruise on you then have to use the twist style switch to set the cruise. And last it seems that you have confirmed that your car is not a 2009.5 but the easiest way to do so is check for the cup holders that stick out of the rear set. Only the 9.5s have those.
__________________
-2009.5 MSM Premium GT-

Mods: Brembos, OBX Headers to Maxflows, VCM, RCR Intake, HSRK, LS7 Maf and tuned by Pat G.
In The Garage: Yank 2800 stall, SLP UDP
10.59 at 100.31 in the 1000.....8.33 at 88.13 in the 1/8....1.99 60 ft

Silver Bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 08:38 AM   #16
1gr8ate
Senior Member
 
1gr8ate's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 118
Default

As far as the cruise goes, the DIC does show "Cruise On", but it doesn't hold the speed. At first, I had thought the overspeed setting was causing it to not work, but even with that disabled, nothing, it just slows down when it's engaged and I let off the gas. I also had the increase speed held down to see if that would do anything, and it didn't. But since the CEL is on, maybe that has something to do with it? I'll get that checked and try again.[/QUOTE]

You still have to set your speed after you turn it on!!
1gr8ate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 08:52 AM   #17
Geryder23
Senior Member
 
Geryder23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 123
Default

I am also with everyone that says if you have CEL on your remote start will not work. When I try and remote start my car and it does not work I know I have a check engine light on and i go directly to my gas cap to tighten it then the CEL goes away after a few mins of driving. Believe me the CEL scared me to death as i got into the car after recently purchasing the car. Guess what i did for 20mins in my work parking lot? Read the sh*t out of the manual like wtf lol. Then it said to check your gas cap and thats what it was.

Welcome to the group, and once you work out the kinks enjoy your ride !!!
__________________

Roto Fab Intake
Solo Mach Exhaust
Painted White Hot GXP Diffuser
5000k TRS Morimoto HIDs
LED Fog Lights
Lexani LSS-8 (245-35s up front, 275-30s in the rear)
Geryder23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 10:30 AM   #18
karlhungus
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,947
Default

The DIC will still show "cruise on" even if it's not activated. It's a two stage system. "on" and "active" I believe.
__________________
OGOC (Ontario G8 Owners Club)
09 PBM V6 (Traded)
GXP Diffuser, Mace Insulators, Solo, CAI, FE3, BMR, much more
Replaced with
09 WH GT, Solo Mach, HF Cats, CAI, LS3 Cam, Pat G Tuned, FE3, Whiteline, SuperPro, Centric/Hawk, DAI Autobahns 19x8.5/+35, RE760s
karlhungus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 12:06 PM   #19
GOPHERIT
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Fountain Valley California
Posts: 2,307
Default

Ok-- more thoughts. I agree that if the MIL light is set, you "cannot" start your car with the remote function. The car *must* assume that you have a big problem here. It is not going to allow the car to idle unattended. In fact, if a MIL light were to set (after a successful remote start), the car will terminate that 10 min run period by turning itself back off for protection.
Next--I'll guess that the code might be a P0455 (bad gas cap sealing, and which will illuminate the MIL light) condition, since you just gassed up. That's the end of your remote start function until corrected.
On the cruise control--- After you punch the button on the end of the turn signal stock, the cruise control is now in the armed/standby mode. You have to rotate the thumb lever to the set position (when you've reached the speed you want to hold). That's when it will display *active* or something like that, for a moment in the DIC. Pushing the stalk button once(when actually in cruise control), will drop out the cruise control and drop it back to the armed/standby mode again. Hitting it a second time, will turn if off completely.
Before I bought my car, a salesman at a Pontiac dealership, guarantied that (that) particular car did indeed have bluetooth in it. So I proceeded to show *him* that in fact it did not have it *active* in that car. I advised him that he really shouldn't try to mislead any other customers about that either. As stated by others, an by your VIN #, those cars came off the assembly line prior to the installation of the hardware needed, to make that system work correctly.
GOPHERIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 11:07 PM   #20
cinosa
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Halifax, NS, Canada
Posts: 53
Default

Ok, so I'm just a moron I figured out the cruise thing based on what was said, and it works. I wasn't twisting the stalk to "set" to actually activate it. I'm use to just hitting the "on" button and it being on. Ooops

So the only thing left is to clear the code and get my remote start back.
cinosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
bluetooth , cruise control , remote start

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2007-2008, G8Board.com

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.