DIY Paint Chip Repair with Pics - Pontiac G8 Forum: G8 Forums - G8Board.com

Go Back   Pontiac G8 Forum: G8 Forums - G8Board.com > G8 Tech > Appearance / Detailing

» Auto Insurance
» Vendors

Old 06-07-2010, 08:25 PM   #1
majesticix

Default DIY Paint Chip Repair with Pics

Like most of us here, I had many paint chips on my car after 30,000 miles on my car. Last weekend, I decided to fill in some paint chips on my car, sand it, clear coat, and polish it to like new condition. I took some pics along the way, and I've got a little video to demonstrate how I sprayed the clear coat on.

Use this article for reference for the weekend warrior. I am not a pro by any means, but my results should speak for themselves from the pics. This is NOT a replacement for a proper professional paint job, but it's the next best thing for little money. It does require time though...and some faith in the process.

I welcome any comments or feedback. Here goes:

Materials Necessary:
- Touch up base coat paint (I used a paint pen from automotivetouchup.com mixed to my car's paint color).
- Clear Coat Aerosol Paint Can ONLY (do not bother with the clear coat paint pen, I'll explain later)
- 1500 Grit Sandpaper
- 2000 Grit Sandpaper
- Rubbing Compound
- Painters tape for Masking off areas for Clear Coat Spray
- Machine Polisher/Buffer (I used, and recommend the Adams PC Kit with Polishing Pads, Swirl & Haze Remover and Machine Polish)
- Clay Bar with Adams Detail Spray (or other lubricant)
- Dish Detergent (aka Dawn or some other prep solvent)\
- Lots of Microfiber towels

WARNING: Do NOT bother sanding your car if you don't have a machine polisher/buffer. The Adams PC orbital polisher kit is great because anybody can operate it and it includes the proper pads and polish to remove the sanding damage you will do to your car