Stuck in 4 cyl mode - Pontiac G8 Forum: G8 Forums - G8Board.com
 
Go Back   Pontiac G8 Forum: G8 Forums - G8Board.com > G8 Tech > V8 Engine Tech (L76/LS3)

» Auto Insurance
» Vendors
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-21-2013, 03:39 PM   #1
bmw78586
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 13
Default Stuck in 4 cyl mode

So this morning as I'm taking my girlfriend to work, the car get stuck in 4 cylinder mode. No loud noises from from the engine. Spark is present to all 8 cylinders. Any ideas of what may have caused this? Its at the stealership right now. Just wondering what they may find.
bmw78586 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-21-2013, 04:42 PM   #2
jerminator
Proud owner
 
jerminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Liberty Hill, TX
Posts: 834
Default

No idea, but what was it like to drive? Acceleration, fuel economy if you drove it much like that? I'd love to be able to force 4 cylinders active with more throttle than currently programmed.
__________________
SRM GXP 6M
RotoFab intake

Gone- 2009 MGM GT
jerminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 04:44 PM   #3
bmw78586
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 13
Default

It sucks. Shifts hard and a lot of vibration. Not good at all!!
bmw78586 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 04:55 PM   #4
gr8t gt
Senior Member
 
gr8t gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: DFW, Tx
Posts: 427
Default

Remember the days of the Cadillac V8-6-4, GM almost got it right this time. I'm glad I got rid of that crap on mine.
__________________

Rare '09 MGM GT7 ONYX/RED
TVS1900 @ 6.5psi, Kooks LT, Cats, SLP Powerflow Mufflers, Swiss cheese stock air box, LS9 Cam and Injectors, BAP
516 rwhp-462 rwtq (time for larger injectors and more boost)

'11 Silverdo LTZ DuraMax
Stock (for now)

'12 Mustang GT/CS
Loud Ass Flowmaster's (wife's car)
gr8t gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 05:00 PM   #5
bmw78586
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 13
Default

So they just called and said it was some purge cylinder and both front o2 sensors and over $500 to fix. I just replaced both o2 sensors exactly 1 week ago with bosch when doing header install.
bmw78586 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 05:03 PM   #6
Agose25
Senior Member
 
Agose25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Frisco TX
Posts: 4,210
Default

^ Next time you get on here to ask for help, information like "Hey I did a header install last week" would be a good idea to disclose.

It never threw one single CEL? Do you have an aftermarket tune?
__________________



Agose25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 05:14 PM   #7
bmw78586
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 13
Default

Sorry. It does have a tune but it was before the headers so it was throwing the rear o2 cel. But I don't see how both brand new o2's can die exactly 1 week after they were installed.
bmw78586 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 05:47 PM   #8
2lazy4agoodname
Senior Member
 
2lazy4agoodname's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,077
Default

It's actually pretty common to have an 02 sensor fail right after putting on headers if you run it without a tune for a week or so. Just happened to 2 buddies of mine with gto's after their header install. They had no problems for a week and then both cars started throwing codes.
__________________
09 PBM G8 GT -
Built By Rick Crawford Racing
404 Stroker / Yank 2800ss / Kooks
Solo / Vararam / CTS-V Brembos / BMR
UPR / VMR V701/ Lovells

11.04 @ 125.14
09 WH GXP M6 (#1828 of 1829)
Roto-Fab
2lazy4agoodname is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 06:05 PM   #9
Norm8332
G8 GT GUY
 
Norm8332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Western NY
Posts: 715
Default

I had issues with the Bosch sensors I tried on my car. They were slower than the stockers and the computer didn't like them..I went back to the stock ones.
__________________
2008 G8 GT: Magnacharger TVS MP1900 @9psi, LS9 cam, 72# injectors,SLP Headers, Corsa catback


Norm8332 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 12:28 PM   #10
bmw78586
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 13
Default

So maybe it is the o2's. I thought the dealership was just yanking my chain by saying the front o2's were bad. I'm gonna have them save em for me and return them to AutoZone when I get the car back. Thanks for all the help guys. Will update when I get the car back (hopefully today).
bmw78586 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 07:26 PM   #11
bmw78586
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 13
Default

Just got word from the dealership that whatever they thought was wrong with it did not fix it. They replaced the o2's and whatever purge cylinder they talked about and its still doing the same thing. Im wondering about the dod solenoid thats under the intake. Would that throw up a specific code for the solenoid if it had gone bad? Again, Thanks for the help.
bmw78586 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 09:09 PM   #12
GOPHERIT
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Fountain Valley California
Posts: 2,326
Default

I sure hope your not paying for these *did not solve the problem* shotgun parts there throwing at you. There are 4 solenoids (one for each cylinder) in that DOD system. They are hot all the time, and get there grounds when the ECM says so, and in the correct sequence, to make the transition as smooth as can be.
It sounds like all 4 ground return wires *from the 4 solenoids*, have found a way to be grounded all the time (instead of when the ECM OKs it).
GOPHERIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 09:16 PM   #13
bmw78586
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 13
Default

I do plan to tell the dealership to jump in a lake if they try to charge me for it. I'm thinking of just pulling it out of the dealership and doing the DoD delete myself. I don't like that they did 2 things to it and it didn't fix anything.
bmw78586 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 11:01 PM   #14
GOPHERIT
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Fountain Valley California
Posts: 2,326
Default

Because its at the dealers service dept., does that *for sure* mean that they know that all 8 plugs and all 8 fuel injectors are operating correctly. You know that if fuse F35-20A is blown, it wipes out the 4 odd fuel injectors and 4 ignition coils. Or that if fuse F29-20A is blown, it will wipe out all the even injectors and coils. That equals a very crummy running (valves still cycling) condition. If you *can not* get proof from them about the condition of those fuses and take your car back, you could check that out for yourself. They are located in your underhood fuse box.
GOPHERIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 12:02 AM   #15
bmw78586
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 13
Default

All 8 coils were firing. And the cylinders not working are the same 4 that cut off for dod. I know the outer 2 cylinders on the drivers side and inner 2 on the passenger side are the 4 that aren't working.
bmw78586 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 09:50 AM   #16
GMCustomerService
Senior Member
 
GMCustomerService's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,568
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw78586 View Post
I do plan to tell the dealership to jump in a lake if they try to charge me for it. I'm thinking of just pulling it out of the dealership and doing the DoD delete myself. I don't like that they did 2 things to it and it didn't fix anything.
Did you make any more decisions about the G8 over the weekend?

Michelle, GM Customer Service




GMCustomerService is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 09:57 AM   #17
bmw78586
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 13
Default

Nope. Waiting for my local dealership to get back to me today. If they haven't found anything today, I'm going to pull it out of there and just do the DoD delete kit myself.
bmw78586 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 01:34 PM   #18
GMCustomerService
Senior Member
 
GMCustomerService's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,568
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw78586 View Post
Nope. Waiting for my local dealership to get back to me today. If they haven't found anything today, I'm going to pull it out of there and just do the DoD delete kit myself.
Completely understandable, please let me know how things are going.

Michelle, GM Customer Service

GMCustomerService is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 02:06 PM   #19
bmw78586
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 13
Default

So they called and said apparently an o2 sensor harness melted on the header. Gonna pick it up and see how it runs. Will keep posted.
bmw78586 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 02:20 PM   #20
ExpLiciTSainT
Cars are my hobby...
 
ExpLiciTSainT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 1,603
Default

Did you forget to push it back in its mount?
__________________

2008 G8 GT - Procharger 14PSI D1SC, Squash Double Pumper & Fuel Rails, ID725, ZR1 Map, Port & Polished w/ 4 angle heads, Forge 9.5:1, Pacesetters 1 3/4" LTH (CAT-less), Flowmaster Super 44s, X-pipe, Brembos, 3200 FTI Triple Stall, EBC rotors & yellow pads, Motegii MR120 20x9 +38 275/30s wheels, Pedders Coilovers/Swaybars, BMR Strut bar, Pat G cam/tune!

Old: 353.8
New: 632/530 Mustang Dyno
ExpLiciTSainT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2007-2008, G8Board.com

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.