Headers plans, need opinions. - Pontiac G8 Forum: G8 Forums - G8Board.com
Exhaust Tech Headers, Catbacks, Mufflers, lack of mufflers

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-12-2016, 07:09 PM Thread Starter

Headers plans, need opinions.

Hey guys, looking for some info on headers and wondering what would be my best approach. I want to buy a set of affordable headers to get my lovely G8 all ready for the summer. It's currently straight piped (with cats) with true dual exhaust, I like how it sounds, it's pretty loud, but a little raspy. Would a set of headers make it too loud as it's set up now, or just change the tone and make it deeper?
I plan on also getting a vararam intake and a tune to go with the headers, would i see a noticeable power increase over stock?
Just looking to get the best bang for my buck for now, it's my first year having the car. There may be some head work and a cam in the future, but I want to get the ugly stock air box and rusted exhaust manifold out before show season.
Can I hook up the headers to the stock cats? I just wanna avoid buying an expensive set of high flow ones right now if possible, and going catless isn't really an option in New York.
Let me know what you think of my "plan", I'm new to the G8 world so all feedback helps, thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-12-2016, 07:22 PM

If you want inexpensive Manzos these can not be hooked up to stock cats. High flow cats is what you want with any headers.

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]K&N CAI, Pypes headers, Solo HFC's,Solo axle backs, Custom tune, FE3 Struts & Shocks, White line bushings & bearings, Rear Cradle inserts, Moog end links.Little lunati cam,SLP 25 %UDP, AC tensioner upgrade.15% tint.12" sub woofer with amp.Future upgrade Power slot rotors & posi quiet pads.

V6 Spectre CAI, Original Overkill tune,FE3 Struts & Shocks, White line bushings & bearings, BMR Rear Cradle inserts, Moog end links.12" sub woofer with amp.