QTP cutout install - Pontiac G8 Forum: G8 Forums - G8Board.com
Exhaust Tech Headers, Catbacks, Mufflers, lack of mufflers

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-07-2018, 12:09 PM Thread Starter

QTP cutout install

Guys I am a newbie but have done a lot of reading on the cutouts but all the pics of installs are gone because of the photobucket thing. Anyway does anybody have pics of install that they would care to share? Where did you run the wiring and mount your switch, things of that nature. Thanks.

2009 G8 GT
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-07-2018, 05:08 PM

Yeah, me want too.

2009 MGM GT: VCM CAI, ARH LT headers (no cats), Vector Tune, MT drag radials
Procharger D1SC still powering the box it came in January 2010, hiding somewhere in the back of my man cave.
PB: 12.533 @ 111.45 w/ 1.951 60' CLAIMING THE INTAKE/LT/TUNE/DR RECORD

"There are but three true sports...mountain climbing, bull fighting, and motor racing. The rest are merely games." Ernest Hemmingway
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-07-2018, 05:41 PM

Garage
I have the QTPs with turndowns and wireless remote, had them on just about a year now. Are you looking for pics of where they're at on the exhaust? After I had them put on the exhaust(between long tube headers and mid muffler), I wrapped the wiring in heat-protective tape and routed it up through the shifter boot in the center console. I think I went behind some heat shielding too somewhere? From what I recall, there were 4 bolts to remove from under the car and then just the trim around the center console. I just used the 12v outlet inside the console armrest for power, and tucked the remote receiver in there too. It's all hidden nicely.

I didn't have a lot of room for the muffler shop to install these where I wanted without reducing my ground clearance there some, that's my only gripe with them. This thread was very helpful for me with everything start to finish.