Winter Driving - Pontiac G8 Forum: G8 Forums - G8Board.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 61 (permalink) Old 11-06-2013, 12:51 PM Thread Starter

Winter Driving

I have a G8 V6. I believe it has 17s for the tires. I just bought the car a week ago. I live in Western Wisconsin and it recently snowed. My drive I'm was aweful today. My trunk is empty as I wanted to see how it would handle with no weight. I love driving in the snow and my previous car was an '05 Grand Prix which did good in the winter. This is my first time driving a RWD car so I'm hoping to get used to it. I need suggestions on how much weight to add in the trunk. I do not want to buy winter tires. Any suggestions?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 61 (permalink) Old 11-06-2013, 01:06 PM

I have driven on all season tires through the last 4 NE winters with my G8. It isn't a problem so long as the tread is good. This was true with the Portenzas and my Conti DWS tires. Your real issue is going to be learning how to handle a RWD car in bad weather. FWD is way easier to drive in the snow. That said, once you get the hang of it you'll never want to go back.

-Dennis-

2014 Camaro Silver Ice 2LT +RS
2009 G8 V6 PBM Premium+Comfort&Sound = SOLD
mods: Rotofab CAI, mid-muffler and resonator delete, Magnaflow x-pipe: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list...d1qRKK_ChAwmZZ
GT brake upgrade: painted G2 black w/BrakePerformance slotted rotors and Hawk ceramic pads.
2000 Maxima Custom M/F Catback, K&N - SOLD
1972 Lemans 350, 4B - SOLD
post #3 of 61 (permalink) Old 11-06-2013, 01:25 PM

Where you about I'm Wisconsin? I live in Stevens Point, drive year round with General Gmax AS03s. Which are essentially the Conti DWSs. Just get good all seasons you'll be fine.

Sent From: A Nuclear Facility

Rotofab
Kooks LT
Solo HFC
Solo Mach
Pedders Street II GSR kit
Livernois 1C Cam DOD Delete
Milled Heads
Ported Intake
Ported Throttle Body

Bolt ons dyno W/Pat G tune: 364/373
After:430/404