4Likes
  • 1 Post By JAYDBPR
  • 1 Post By Belo
  • 2 Post By MGMGXP

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-04-2018, 09:12 AM Thread Starter

Fly like a G8

Whats up yall.
Im in the market for a new car with the requirements being a 4door sedan (preferably v8 wagon for dad status) that can hit 400hp the easiest and is bigger than a jetta but not a tank like a charger (too fkin common)..
Now, I have ZERO EXPERIENCE with V8s. In fact I have only strictly driven VW cars. Currently driving a MKV K04 Jetta on wm/ injection (300/300) I know, wtf numbers probably around here. So initially my first choice is a 10-12 Audi S4. Unfortunately the manuals hold good value and are on the higher end of what I want to spend right now especially factoring getting to stage2 with pulley properly. My only other options considering were a e92 m3, and a SS (but thats probably a fat no because its too expensive to start with). And then someone mentioned a G8 (at half the price)...

So for the last hour or so Ive been clicking away here learning stuff and youtubing some motivation per say. and yea! BUT the only thing that kills this idea is the automatic BUT for comparison I test drove an auto S4 and it still pulled. So later today im gonna sneak by a local dealership and test drive (what should I look out for? im only considering higher mileage 100K +).

Now lets talk mods. From what ive gathered; a tune, with cams and headers (transmission tune?), should put me around 400whp? and a butt load of torque.

Who are the shelf brands for tunes? Ive seen diablo, intunes? is it better to just go custom?

Intake/exhaust im not worried as Ill have a local shop fab something up. But im guessing everyone does xpipes with what size pipes?

cams? does anyone do water methanol injection? I am here in so*cal so its something Id like to have. and yes I will pound this thing to the ground as clean as possible and NOT on some silly 22" bs...
Does 100K miles @ around 10-14$k average?