Mystery misfire - Pontiac G8 Forum: G8 Forums - G8Board.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 37 (permalink) Old 06-22-2019, 07:53 AM Thread Starter

Mystery misfire

So, I'm persistently getting misfires on cylinder 6 which is #5 being 6th in the firing order. I've already ruled out the plug, plug wire and coil by way of swapping the coil and replacing all of the plugs and wires with brand new. I checked compression and compared with neighboring cylinders. 110 PSI on #1, 135 on #3 and 125 on #5. I've never done a compression check before so I asked an experienced DIY mechanic buddy and he said that those were good numbers. Finally, I bought a 2-pack of those plug testers and put one on #5 and #1.

#1 has a strong and consistent pulse. #5 not so much. That one will occasionally only flicker or skip altogether. These occurrences seem completely random and sometimes come in tightly grouped waves of random combinations lasting about 5 seconds. Time between individual occurrences or waves is anywhere from 15 seconds to over a minute.

I suppose the next target is the coil connector and it's wires. My DIY buddy has been doing research for me and found stuff about bad crank shaft sensors potentially being the cause. I'm running out of ideas so any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for reading.

2009 G8 GT
Passion Red
Sport Package
Vararam CAI
Borla Exhaust
Complete LED Conversion:
Opt7 FluxBeam Headlights
JDM Astar: Exterior and Interior
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 37 (permalink) Old 06-22-2019, 10:48 AM

Ok so it says cylinder 6 misfire but you’re checking cylinder 5 because of the firing order? It sounds to me like you’re on the wrong cylinder if that’s what you’re doing. If the ECM says cylinder 6 then that’s the cylinder you need to be checking and doing your coil swap etc on.