Tuning - Pontiac G8 Forum: G8 Forums - G8Board.com
Rocky Mountain CO, UT, WY

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-22-2014, 11:51 PM Thread Starter

Tuning

Ok, so I have a question

My car is completely stock. It's a clean slate. I've been looking at OTR style CAI (likely a veraram). So my question is, what exactly do I have to do to my car before I go visit the shop you guys are going to recommend to get a tune?

What all is involved in that, and what kind of costs should I expect?

I've never done something like this before, so your guidance is appreciated.

Phil

Pontiac. They Built Excitement
09 SRM G8 GT
Homelink Visor
Bluestar II
Autodim Mirror (06 Rainier)
Rotofab CAI (Dry filter)
Cortex Tune for Rotofab
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-23-2014, 01:28 AM

There are a few options for a tune. I personally recommend Pat g or Rick Crawford. You don't have to go to either of these guys shops to get it done . It's called a mail order tune and if it weren't for these two guys being gods for tuning our g8s , I wouldn't feel comfortable doing it that way. Rick is in North Carolina and Pats in texas. So if you happen to be close by or want to go for a drive ,you can get it done at their shops .

Other options that people have been happy with are livernoise, out of new york. Then there's cortex or super chips. Canada has overkill tune. Option c is to find some locals who would recommend a shop who's done ls motors and or more specifically g8s. You should ask yourself , do you plan on doing more than just an otr intake down the road? If so , you'll want someone who offers free retunes.

I'd recommend pat all the way. Great response time and I've never seen a bad review since I've been on this site, only praise.