Pontiac G8 Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I recently got a torq10fx on sale from chemical guys with the full starter kit (fine, medium and heavy cutting pads, and compounds and polishes). So being new to the polishing world I decided not to use any of the heavier compounds included in the kit and stick to the polishes. I ended up using the v36 and v38 followed by zaino AIO, Z5,Z6, and Z8. After the better part of a week (all nights) I backed the car out of the garage to admire my work. Funny thing is, it doesn't really look any better than it did before. I can tell getting closer to the car a lot of the swirl marks and scratches are gone, (recently found out I had been washing cars completely wrong for the last 15 years, now I use the two bucket method and a good wash mit) but from more than a couple feet away the car looks almost exactly the same. I know the paint on this car isn't amazing, I feel like I have more orange peel than some of the other G8's, but wet sanding is a bit too scary for me right now. What do you guys think? Should I use some different product that might make a bigger impact? I'm open to suggestions.

Attachments

·
Registered
3,521 Posts
OK so it is polished and many swirl marks are removed. What glaze and wax have you applied?

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well, I currently use the zaino line, so I did the Z-5 show car polish, followed by the Z-6 gloss enhancer, followed by Z-8 grand finale spray. I don't currently have any glazes (maybe the z-AIO is a type of glaze?). I have liked the zaino line for a long time, but might be time to look at something else. Their line is a bit different than most, They don't have their wax listed as wax, so maybe I've got something wrong there too?

·
Premium Member
4,628 Posts
Did you do a test panel first to figure out what polish/pad combo to use? If your lighting was poor, you probably didn't see the depth of the damage.

·
Registered