Pontiac G8 Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

· Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just recently bought a device called a "ScanGauge" and so far it's paying for itself. On two trips today from the edge of the city into downtown I averaged 8.3 L/100 KM - which is equal to 34mpg.

It was pretty shocking as the highest reported MPG on fuelly was 28mpg.

I'm not an expert but some basic things I'm doing are:
-taking it very easy going up hills
-coasting to red lights, especially on highways that are interrupted by lights
-shutting off the engine for extended red lights
-keeping tires pumped up
-regular k&n air filter
-Pulse & Glide: accelerate to 95 km/h, completely get off the gas and coast to 75km/h, accelerate to 95 km/h at just over 1500RPM, then coast back down to 75km/h..rinse, wash, repeat. If someone's on my bumper then I'll point to them to pass me or I'll turn my hazards on for a few seconds.

It's pretty easy, you just need a scangauge and to coast as much as possible. I have 2 tires that need to have slow leaks repaired so I wouldn't be surprised if someone out there could beat 34mpg

· Registered
227 Posts
I'm sorry bud but maybe a Prius might be a better car for you... Seriously speed up then coast back down then point at people to go around you? Are you kidding me?

· Registered
1,434 Posts
+1 on what he said. Drive the damn car..

· Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I'm sorry bud but maybe a Prius might be a better car for you... Seriously speed up then coast back down then point at people to go around you? Are you kidding me?
Shove it. Maybe this continent isn't where you belong, I'll do what I damn well please.

You clicked on a thread about fuel efficiency and think you can come here and troll. Not the sharpest tool in the toolbox.

· Registered
305 Posts