Pontiac G8 Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am a newbie here and this is my first post. I have a very base model G8 with no options. After reading the DIY VIM article, I decided to swap the single CD radio w/ manual HVAC controls, with the 6 CD radio and digital HVAC controls. I did all of the VIN # EEPROM programming as described in the article and even matched the "pairing key" values of the new faceplate and radio unit with that of the original radio/faceplate unit.

The 6 CD radio works properly. There are no "security lockouts" messages. But the HVAC controls, do not seem to respond properly. The fan speed does not respond to the +/- controls. It does change when pressing the "Recirculation" button. The Ext. Air temp displays "-40" (ironically it is about 40 deg. outside here), which may suggest that I am missing other sensors and equipment. Aside for displaying some indicators on the screen, all of the other buttons seem to be ignored.

Does the BCM need to be programmed for a different HVAC control? Has anybody played with this or have any knowledge of this condition? Or is this my first experience with a digital HVAC system? Thanks in advance for any responses or suggestions.

·
Pontiac Crazy
424 Posts
The base model HVAC is single zone whereas the radio you swapped in is dual zone. You are probably missing a few interior temp sensors and circulation doors that it's expecting to see.

·
Premium Member
4,200 Posts