Pontiac G8 Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, i have owned my g8 gt for 2 weeks already and have loved it, besides a little issue that i cant seem to trace. Im no mechanic by any means but know my basic way around cars. So ive been having a problen with the acceleration of the car. I cant seem to floor it on a dead stop because itll just stop dead on its tracks and just slowly accelerate until it picks up speed and even then when it picks up speed ut sort of like "hiccups" when picking up the speed. Other times i can gun it from a dig and itll accelerate smoothly with no issues. Ive done research and it had the possibilty of bad spark plugs so i changed those along with new cables and it didnt seem to do anything. Any ideas?

·
Registered
51 Posts
What you're describing could also just be traction control, especially with crappy tires. Try turning TC/ESC off and then CAREFULLY do another launch.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Im not getting any codes, it passed smog recently as is. How would i check for vacuum leaks? And ill try the traction control, but engine just seems to lose power when accelerating. The other day i also noticed the stock exhaust manifold has some bolts missing from it. Idk if this would affect it?

·
Registered
51 Posts
but engine just seems to lose power when accelerating
How else do you think TC works? It cuts power when it detects wheelspin. If your problem goes away when you floor it at higher gears, this strongly points to TC. If the problem exists at higher speed when you punch it, then it is more likely an engine-related issue.

The exhaust bolts could cause it to bog at low rpm, but that'd be met with a CEL most times. Regardless, find the replacement bolts! haha

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #7