Pontiac G8 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
715 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Any have any input on these? Are they any good or anyone had experience with them?

·
Registered
362 Posts
I think thats what Daniel runs in his not sure if there are a lot of others. When I called them I was confident with their answers and might go through them when I do mine.

·
Registered
805 Posts
Why the multi disc and not a single disc?

·
Registered
805 Posts
Ok, for some reason, I thought the single disc was better for our cars. I guess it all depends on mods.

·
Registered
104 Posts
Any facts or threads that back that up? Not calling you out or anything I'm just curious to know where you got the idea from because I always thought and heard from buddies that a multi disc was an overall better converter. Now I'm no converter expert but I heard that there is less slippage with a multi disc. The last converter I had was a single disc 3200 in a Buick grand national and really hated how it felt on the street so I figure I'd try a multi disc on the g8. Regardless if FTI would have offered the single disc I would have still gone with a multi.

·
Registered
104 Posts
Ok. I have owned an FTI single and currently have a FTI triple disc.
I loved the single disc but ended up with bearing noise- 1 way roller clutch was going bad. sent it in for warranty repair. now this was right before they discontinued the single disc. I get a call and its FTI suggesting I upgrade to the triple disc and get offered a very cheap price to do it.
I should have stayed with the single b/c for a daily driver I feel the triple is a little too harsh and the shifting with the converter locked it too harsh.