Pontiac G8 Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, looking for some info on headers and wondering what would be my best approach. I want to buy a set of affordable headers to get my lovely G8 all ready for the summer. It's currently straight piped (with cats) with true dual exhaust, I like how it sounds, it's pretty loud, but a little raspy. Would a set of headers make it too loud as it's set up now, or just change the tone and make it deeper?
I plan on also getting a vararam intake and a tune to go with the headers, would i see a noticeable power increase over stock?
Just looking to get the best bang for my buck for now, it's my first year having the car. There may be some head work and a cam in the future, but I want to get the ugly stock air box and rusted exhaust manifold out before show season.
Can I hook up the headers to the stock cats? I just wanna avoid buying an expensive set of high flow ones right now if possible, and going catless isn't really an option in New York.
Let me know what you think of my "plan", I'm new to the G8 world so all feedback helps, thanks!

·
Registered
1,842 Posts
If you want inexpensive Manzos these can not be hooked up to stock cats. High flow cats is what you want with any headers.

·
Registered
198 Posts
Coated Kooks through good vender with high flow cats 3 ' x pipe all Stainless. Mufflers are your choice but a straight pipe setup will be way loud.

·
Registered
1,057 Posts
SLP headers and cats will hook up to stock midpipes...

·
Registered
989 Posts
Don't think they make SLP headers anymore

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Did sime research, think I'm going to check out the manzos. From what I've heard also I'll probably have to modify the collector to be 3", any recommendations for some relatively cheap high flow cats that would fit to it?

·
Registered
735 Posts