Pontiac G8 Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
168 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I want to install 1 7/8" X 3" MID-LENGTH HEADERS, CATTED. There is also 1 3/4"X3". Will be installing onto the OEM pipe connection. Should I get the 1 3/4" or 1 7/8"? The only other exhaust mod I have done is Magnaflow axle backs. I'm new to exhaust mods, sorry!

·
Registered
1,842 Posts
Without other HP mods 1.75 will be fine.

·
Registered
436 Posts
I thought they stopped making the 1 3/4 in mid-length? I had 1/7/8 and the only other mods I had was a Vararam intake and tune. It ran great.

·
Registered
168 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
So with the VCM cai, Magnafow axle backs and a good tune (not superchips), I would be better using the 1 7/8 to be better equipped for other future mods??
And would it be a little more deep toned?

·
every village has one
2,168 Posts
We're talking 1/8 inch here, doubt it will matter.
Knowing how Kooks production goes, get whatever is in stock:)

·
Registered
436 Posts
We're talking 1/8 inch here, doubt it will matter.
Knowing how Kooks production goes, get whatever is in stock:)
That 1/8 th. of an inch does make a difference. Why do you think Kooks and other header companies have 1 3/4, 1 7/8, stepped headers and so on?

·
Registered
436 Posts
So with the VCM cai, Magnafow axle backs and a good tune (not superchips), I would be better using the 1 7/8 to be better equipped for other future mods??
And would it be a little more deep toned?
If you're going to cam it later down the road, get the 1 7/8. If you're just going to do simple bolt-ons, you can still get 1 7/8, but 1 3/4 will be fine.

·
Registered
1,855 Posts
Either size will work, but I'd suggest to get the 1 7/8". No one ever regretted getting the 1 7/8" over the 1 3/4", but I bet a few have regretted getting the 1 3/4" instead of the 1 7/8". Might as well future proof your car, just in case. 😉

·
Registered
168 Posts
Discussion Starter #10