Pontiac G8 Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone. I'm a G8 noob but certainly not a GM or LS noob. Since buying this car I have been finding all sorts of fun things on it. I bought it used with 31,000 miles on it.

I have found that it has a Vararam CAI, modified mid pipe, and magnaflow axle backs. Along with brembo brakes. I am on the hunt for a set of headers. I think I may have gotten a set so I have a few questions.

Since I have been on this board, I have read countless "I got new headers" posts. What I have noticed is that it has been wildly (like every post) recommended that with headers comes a tune on these cars. In my experience with fbody LS engines, it was recommended that you get a tune. However, guys were running there cars with full bolt ons and no tune pretty regularly. Of course they were making huge gains with a dyno tune.

Here is my question. I don't have the extra money for a dyno tune (4-500 dollars in my area). I'd like to put the headers on and drive the car. I've been researching mail order tunes and things like the cortex. It seems mail order tunes require that I buy 350-600 dollar software and then pay for a tune. There seems to be some controversy about using the cortex with headers.

What are my options here? I'd like to have a safe ride and not worry about blowing the car up. I'm looking to spend the least amount of money but I'm willing to pay what it costs to ensure my vehicle stays safely running. I'm thinking that by the end of the year (decemberish) I will be able to afford a dyno tune for maximum reliability and power.

I had a full bolt/ cam only WS6. There was a guy local to me doing street tunes for a very reasonable price and was getting rave reviews. I had him do the tune and the car ran wonderfully for years and made great seat of the pants power. It turned great times at the track as well. Is the street tune an option?