Pontiac G8 Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
645 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After 177k miles, the stock headlight housings are oxidized and make my car look horrible. It's time for a replacement.

I'm looking at the Spyder headlights with the LED bar and will probably get the matching tail lights too. Not sure I really like the Spec D's. Any reason why they are significantly more money than the Spyders?

Are they plug and play? Should I get an HID kit for them as well? Or are the spyders already HID? Do they use a factory bulb? If so, what's a decent HID kit to go with? I see cheap ones for $30-40 and ones over $100.

I'm a complete newb to lighting but have some skills to follow directions to splice wiring etc (can build an engine).

My G8 is black, so pics of installs would be awesome. Thanks.

·
every village has one
2,169 Posts
Some of the restore kits work pretty good. Might be worth a try first...

·
Registered
5,206 Posts
I recently ordered an oe equipment on amazon .Stil waiting to put it in. it was 120 bucks to my door.

·
Registered
645 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I know I can get OEM for less. I think that if I'm going to do something, I want to do something nice. Some prefer the stock look and just add HID.

It looks like the Spyder are the answer for the housing and the Morimoto H11B with XB ballast in 5500 or 6500 for the HID kit.

·
Premium Member
1,272 Posts
Some of the restore kits work pretty good. Might be worth a try first...
The "restore" kits remove the OEM covering. What needs to be done with these "restore" kits is to recoat the headlights afterward. If not, the headlights will look bad again in much less time since the plastic will be exposed to the elements and sandblasting from driving.

I recently ordered an oe equipment on amazon .Stil waiting to put it in. it was 120 bucks to my door.
Link?