Pontiac G8 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, newbie here...lol. Just bought a 2008 G8 GT and my rear deck subs are blown. These are the speakers I am looking at getting.

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_21933_Kicker-C84-10C84.html

Will the ****ty factory amp push those or do I need a more powerful amp? I am not looking to blow the back window out, I just want to have some decent bass. Any suggestions or opinions would be greatly appreciated, thanks everyone.

·
Registered
241 Posts
The factory 8" subs are 2ohm 50watt rated and in a free air setup.
You have a few options:
1. Run them off the factory amp and run the risk of them not being as loud or sounding muddy
2. Remove the subs, put new ones in a box and run a separate amp
3. find free air subs that are 2ohm or dual 4 ohm coils and run off stock amp
4. same as #3 but run them off an aftermarket amp
5. get freaky custom and go crazy with the install.

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_43593_Kicker-C82-10C82.html

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ya, being a free air set up, there are few choices. The Kickers in the link I posted are said to work pretty well in a free air set up and they have 100rms 200peak power rating. Im looking to spend no more than $300-350. Any idea what kind of watts the stock amp puts out?

·
Registered
241 Posts

·
Registered
165 Posts
I believe I read the stock amp is 40 watts per

·
Registered
5,210 Posts