Pontiac G8 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 106 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I've had the pleasure of driving a MSM M6 GXP since July '09. I have had the added pleasure of picking up a Panther Black A6 in Oklahoma (thanks, Eric!) a few months ago and driving it the 1300 miles back to the fort here in Dover. No, I'm not a gazillionaire. The M6 is going up for sale shortly (for 35K, if interested). Here are some thoughts, in no particular order:

1. Even though I've driven stick since age 16 (40 years ago), I'm by no means a professional who knows how to rip through the gears to get the optimal speed increase down the road. Perhaps for that reason:

2. I have personally found that the A6 is QUICKER than the M6. My first indication of this occurred just a few miles into my trek back to DE from OK. I was on two lane HWY 60 just east of Bartlesville (Speed Limit: 65. God I love that part of the country!) coming up on two 18-wheelers going about 60. So I punched it. Not a 100% floor masher, but rather, say, 75%. Next thing I know, those trucks were gone in a blur, and as I moved back into the travel lane I glanced down at the speedometer and saw the needle slowly easing down from 110 mph. Now I assume all of you have been up and beyond that speed, whether in your M6 or A6. But I have never gotten there that fast- that quick- in my M6. That being said,

3. For pure driving pleasure, I absolutely love the M6 over the A6, and I'm gonna really miss that as I sell it and keep the Panther. There's nothing more power-trip inducing than working your way up the gears at your discretion to get the maximum purr sounds out of that LS3. (Especially when you're cruising by the ladies!) You just don't get that same "high" with an A6. That being said, part II: