Pontiac G8 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know there is a ton of stuff on exhaust on this site and I wish I understood 10% of it. I'm not a mechanic and I'm trying to research but after reading numerous threads, my head starts spinning and there seem to be contradicting replies.

I was looking to spend about $1.2K or so on mods aimed at some performance improvement and better sound (more throaty but not obnoxious). I'm told, here in VA there are fines levied against those who have autos significantly loud (never witnessed any such thing and there are a lot of Harleys around here and have difficulty imagining they are fined).

Step 1) Purchased a rotofab intake,
Step 2) looking to improve exhaust sound. Explored solo axle back, magna axle back and various cat back systems. Question: axle back are definitely cheaper ...do they do anything sound wise without upgrades elsewhere? Are cat backs the only way to go? Full system seems beyond price.
Step 3) New wheels. Any suggestions. I have run flats.

2009 G8 GT

Thx in advance for those responding to a newbie.:eek:ldfogey:

·
Registered
295 Posts
I know there is a ton of stuff on exhaust on this site and I wish I understood 10% of it. I'm not a mechanic and I'm trying to research but after reading numerous threads, my head starts spinning and there seem to be contradicting replies.

I was looking to spend about $1.2K or so on mods aimed at some performance improvement and better sound (more throaty but not obnoxious). I'm told, here in VA there are fines levied against those who have autos significantly loud (never witnessed any such thing and there are a lot of Harleys around here and have difficulty imagining they are fined).