Pontiac G8 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
524 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I finally ordered my headers a couple weeks ago. They came in last wed. I'm just now getting around to installing them. Probably gonna take me a little while since this is my first time and with my work schedule being all over. I do have a couple questions for people with pacesetters. I have read through almost all the threads about pacesetters and nobody said anything about these two questions.

1. Did the bolts that came with your headers have a smaller head than the factory ones?
2. Where the bolts that held your factory manifold and cats to the rest of the exhaust welded?

Below are some pics

Unpackaged

prepped on jackstands

Question pictures

·
Registered
524 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
1. not sure, but I used the new ones with no issues
2. yes the bolt heads were tacked just like your (in the pic). Just pic up some new bolts, nuts, and washers from your local hardware store (<$5) and be done.
3. Please dont put those factory cats back on...
I figured about getting new bolts. No cats. Did you use the connection pieces with the two bolts? You welded your connection adapters to the headers right? With welding did it push your exhaust back?

·
Premium Member
3,216 Posts

·
Registered
524 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I guess i'll just see what happens whether or not I use the connection pieces

·
Registered
524 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Got the old ones out this morning. Actually had my wife help me guide them out. Hopefully tomorrow I can get the new ones in or at least started and finish up Sat. looking forward to starting it up.

·
Registered
267 Posts
i cleaned up and re used the factory manifold bolts.
So you didnt use the supplied bolts that came with the pacesetters, but instead re used the stock bolts? Why

·
Registered
524 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·