Pontiac G8 Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I have recently got a G8 with the V6 this is my first G8 so I am new to this game.

I would like to do something with the exhaust and I have read a lot of threads on here already about different exhaust options but I have a few questions that it would be cool if one of you more experienced guys could answer for me.

When looking at exhaust systems online, specifically cat-back, many of them say for 6.0 and 6.2 V8. However, I have seen people on here talk about putting the GT and GXP exhausts on their V6's. So my question is can I put any cat-back exhaust system on my V6 regardless of if it says for V8? Are modifications required if I want to put GT or GXP or any V8 exhaust components on my V6?

Any help would be much appreciated.
Thanks

·
Registered
1,084 Posts
There was a guy with a v6 who swapped an entire GXP catback system with an x pipe in there as well. This leads me to believe that you can swap OEM exhausts with no problems.
As far as aftermarket systems go, I dont know. They are bolt in kits so i don't see why they wouldn't... but know that they are designed for the V8s. The sound and tone might be affected in some way. Someone should chime in with more info hopefully.
Have you browsed the V6 sections at all?

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

·
Registered
141 Posts
The cat-back/axle-back sections are all interchangeable. You won't see a change in sound installing the G8GT axle-back on a G8V6 as they internal construction is the same; only the tips are different. The G8GXP axle-back will sound more aggressive than the G8V6 or G8GT units.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·