Pontiac G8 Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello guys -
Quick story - 128,XXX miles on my 09 GT G8, and debating on whether to undertake the DOD project. Here is why I'd like your advice:
  • Purchased a one owner at 98,XXX as the body was near perfect, interior perfect, and TX car so zero corrosion
  • Zero mods, and the owner had just spent $4,500 at the dealership due to lifter failure on #2 cylinder
  • Camshaft, all lifters and intake manifold replaced, along with a pulley and all gaskets
  • Lastly, I changed the plugs ($4,500 apparently doesn't get one new plugs...) & posted a thread here as 1/2 had heavy oil on them.
So, what diagnostic should I perform before diving in? Thinking compression test & leakdown as a start but have read that a scope to check cam bearings is also a good idea. I have never done any of these tests before, so this is why I am asking. Thanks in advance for reading this and any advice or suggestions are much appreciated!

·
Registered
2009.5 G8GT
50 Posts
From what I had to do to remove the DOD was to be sure that your G8 is either a 2009, 2009.1(mostly the same) or a 2009.5(more like a Chevy SS, or the PPV.) A lot of parts I had to make sure that they were correct, as most will just list a 2009 not 2009.5 (RPO is BSI). There were a lot of changes in the 2009.5 model year engine.

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for your info, johncampanale - much appreciated. My G8 GT is 2009 as per the VIN.

If anyone else has done any diagnostic testing prior to doing the DOD delete I'd sure like to hear from you!

Thanks guys, and appreciate any input -

·
Registered
2009 GT, Black
1,219 Posts