Pontiac G8 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I am new to the forum, hello everyone. I am also not sure if this is the right thread to put this in.

First off I am not a mechanic, but I love the G8s and I currently own a 2008 Pontiac G8 3.6L with ZERO mods currently. First thing I wanted to do was change the spark plugs. So I am curious as to whether or not the 3.6L requires the Intake Manifold to be removed first. I am assuming yes but someone mentioned you didn't need to but I don't think I believe that.

·
OGOC Member
2,602 Posts
Yes, you need to remove the intake to replace the plugs.

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
It's been awhile since I've been back to this board. Thanks a bunch guys, I am going to be doing this here shortly. Been busy with work and such. I have some more questions but it might be better to make a new thread for those.

As a follow up question; Do I need to do anything with the manifold gasket when I do the plugs? Again, I'm not a mechanic in any way, I'm simply smart enough to follow directions properly, so if I am asking a dumb question please don't mind it.

·
OGOC Member
2,602 Posts
It's been awhile since I've been back to this board. Thanks a bunch guys, I am going to be doing this here shortly. Been busy with work and such. I have some more questions but it might be better to make a new thread for those.

As a follow up question; Do I need to do anything with the manifold gasket when I do the plugs? Again, I'm not a mechanic in any way, I'm simply smart enough to follow directions properly, so if I am asking a dumb question please don't mind it.
The gaskets,depends if you have metal ones. Meaning has the intake been off before? but always good idea to replace them .

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
The gaskets,depends if you have metal ones. Meaning has the intake been off before? but always good idea to replace them .