Pontiac G8 Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone. Im new to the automatic transmission in a sports car.

My question is very simply, does using the sport shift (slap shift) mode compromise the longevity of the transmission? Generally speaking, it was thought that shifting an automatic transmission would degrade the transmission until eventually it went. I made this assumption coming from the world of the Fbody with the weak 4L60E.

I understand this car was built with this feature, but it wouldnt be the first time a "Gee Wiz" idea was implemented into a car that was overtly bad for it.

Thoughts? I dont have an opinion either way at this point.

·
2008 G8 GT
1,430 Posts
No, it will do no damage. Using Active Shift is no different from the car shifting the gears on its own.

·
Premium Member
10,244 Posts
sport shift is defined (According to the manual and most posts on this forum) as just sliding the shifter rightwards but not bumping it forwards or back. That enables performance-lift-foot-mode and a few tighter shiftpoint changes. Also tighter yet if you have a custom tcm tune. The center DIC in the bottom center will say "S#" where # is the current gear you're in, you don't have to shift on your own, this is Sport mode.