Pontiac G8 Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently purchased this g8 from a friend. The radio worked flawless. He attempted to hookup aftermarket amp ect. Thus be told the pigtail that goes into the stock amplifier was cut. I have rewired it twice now. They're is no sound from the radio at all after that has happened. All fuses are good. The screen works and all the functions. Just no sound. Front passenger door speaker only produces static/engine noise. Nothing from any other speakers.. Any help or anything would help out alot... I'm not tech savvy when it comes to this. Thank you all to whom helps.

·
Premium Member
7,445 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Was the aftermarket amplifier initially wired correctly? Rewired it twice as in the stock or aftermarket amplifier? Which fuses were checked?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
No he never was able to get it working. So I re wired the pigtail back how factory had it and plugged back into the stock amplifier. I checked the radio fuse on top of the battery tray the little box. Replaced it with a 25 instead of a 10 because some reason they kept blowing. But the display works perfect shows so radio stations and everything. Just will not produce sound. Back passenger deck speaker wires were disconnected. No sound back there either... and thank you for the welcome.

·
Premium Member
7,445 Posts
Locating the reason(s) why the 10amp radio fuse keeps blowing would be extremely beneficial in the search for answers. Perchance between wiring and rewiring the amplifier something occurred and short circuited a component of some sort.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·