Pontiac G8 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good people of G8board...

I've owned my 2008 G8 GT for 8 years now. I have 145k miles on it, and although I've been fighting the signs to get rid of it for a couple years, it's finally time. My dilemma is that I have too much of a conscious and could use some guidance.

2 months ago my wife and I decided to keep the car running for another year until we figure out if we want to have more kids. I needed to fix a coupe thing so I go and get the headliner replaced and installed EBC Premium Rotors with Red Stuff pads. Of course within a week after doing both of these my A/C goes out and my key starts getting stuck in the ignition. Then a week ago, well a quick backstory...

2 years ago my upper radiator hose snaps and I replace it would a cold case radiator. Afterward I still have issues with the engine showing signs of cooling distress and I figured out about that the radiator cap wasn't seating to the radiator so it wasn't pressuring the system. I call cold case and they send me a replacement and I install it and all is well.

...so a week ago I noticed my fans running too much for a chilly San Diego morning (it was like 50 degrees) and once I let the engine cool down I check the overflow reservoir and have no coolant in it. I look under the car and can see a small puddle on the ground. I remove the valence under the engine and it's clear that coolant is leaking somewhere. After looking around I notice water collecting at the bottom of the fins of the radiator - it appears there is a leak somewhere in the fins because the upper and lower hose connections are dry and look good. This isn't something to be fixed without replacing the whole radiator again which at this point I don't want to do.