Pontiac G8 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I had to get my car towed from my house to the dealership because my shift linkage broke or the neutral safety switch went out. Well the tow truck driver said he couldnt tow it, he needed a flat bed because its a front wheel drive car. I told him that it wasnt and he argued with me, made me look under the car and showed me what he said was the drive train. Im no mechanic so i didnt argue with him too much and i even started to think that maybe i was wrong because ive only had my g8 for 2 months. He even said that he has towed hundreds of pontiacs and they are all fwd cars and that the gto was awd. He left and it really had me questioning what i thought i knew....BUT I WAS RIGHT AND HE WAS WRONG! :turbonaughtdy_1: Damn tow truck driver.

·
Premium Member
1,849 Posts
He needed a flat bed anyway because there isn't enough ground clearance on a G8 to tow it with a hook. It's a good thing he was an idiot because otherwise he would've damaged your car.

·
Yep, that just happened..
5,024 Posts
^^^ I agree. This is one instance where being ignorant actually saved your car some damage.

·
Registered
5,210 Posts
No , you where right all along. Its rear wheel. If you have a smart phone ,I would a searched it up and showed him. Or hell ,isn't it stated in our manual . Didn't know about the ground clearance thing . Good to know.

·
Registered
2,145 Posts
Lol, how did you not know its RWD?! JK, always trust your instincts.

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
He wanted to put it on jacks actually but his jacks were broken so thats why he said a flat bed. I think either way if he touched my car i was doomed lol

·
Registered
1,210 Posts
I didn't think they still used regualr tow trucks. 100% of our tows are done with roll back. There is only one company I would trust towing my car though. They do all our caddys and vettes and whatnot.

·
Registered
134 Posts